One hundred years from now it will not matter what kind of car I drove, what kind of house I lived in, how much money I had in my bank account, nor what my clothes looked like. But the world may be a little better because I was important in the life of a child.
- Forest E. Witcraft

Safe Harbor’s interagency agreement in place

  • Original Publication Date: August 19, 2005
The room was filled with law enforcement officials, judicial representatives and personnel from Sevier, Cocke, Grainger and Jefferson County as the interagency agreement was discussed and signed.  “Safe Harbor Child Advocacy Center, Inc., is well on it’s way to becoming a reality,” stated District Attorney General Al Schmutzer.  “With this facility in place, we will see a positive change in the prosecution of child abuse cases.”

The signing took place August 18, 2005, joining the forces of officials from all the counties in the Fourth Judicial District.  “It is imperative we all work together, for when united, we are a strong force,” commented Kirk Lane, Regional Administrator for East Tennessee Children’s Services.  Lane was on site when the Third Judicial District opened their child advocacy center in 2000.  “It only took that community six months to create a fine facility.  With leaders like Donna Koester and Barry Fain working on this project, I predict much the same outcome.

The interagency agreement was the first official step in obtaining much needed grant money from the National Children’s Alliance.  “With this agreement in place, we are closer to establishing a facility to help children who have been traumatized by abuse,” noted Lane.

Official signing the interagency agreement:

·  O. Kirk Lane, East Tennessee Regional Administrator

·  Joan Davis, Team Leader, DCS Child Protective Services

·  Mimi Vivio, Representative from Jefferson and Cocke County

·  Becky Lakins, Team Leader, DCS Child Protective Services

·  Crystal Ratcliff, Team Leader, DCS Child Protective Services

·  Al Schmutzer Jr., District Attorney General

·  D.C. Ramsey, Cocke County Sheriff

·  Jairus Williams, Grainger County Sheriff

·  David Davenport, Jefferson County Sheriff

·  Bruce Montgomery, Sevier County Sheriff

·  Maurice Shults, Chief of Police, Newport

·  David Frye, Chief of Police, Rutledge

·  Kyle Kuykendall, Chief of Police, Blaine

·  Hon. John Bell, Cocke County

·  Hon. J. Wayne Wolfenbarger, Grainger County

·  Hon. Benjamin Strand, Jefferson County

·  Hon. Dwight Stokes, Sevier County

·  Hon. Jeff Rader, Sevier County

·  Donna J. Koester, President, SHCAC

·  Andy Dossett, Chief of Police, Bean Station

·  Charlie Epps, Chief of Police, White Pine

·  Cleve Minor, Chief of Police, New Market

·  Will Clark, Chief of Police, Jefferson City

·  Carson Williams, Chief of Police, Dandridge

·  Randy Brackins, Chief of Police, Gatlinburg

·  Jack Baldwin, Chief of Police, Pigeon Forge

·  Donnie Myers, Chief of Police, Sevierville

Add comment